iSurprise Kaifong Welfare Association

Village management is a local affair

Village Office

Lei Yue Mun used to be a pretty autonomous place. Until the 1960s, village affairs were managed by the Secretariat for Chinese Affairs. Later, villagers proactively formed the Village Office, which was responsible for dealing with funerals and festivals, fundraising for natural disasters and accidents, property transactions, and more.

Kaifong Association

The Village Office changed its name to Lei Yue Mun Kaifong Welfare Association in 1984. It is still active in organising activities for residents, such as the Seafood Festival to promote tourism and Chinese opera performances during Tin Hau Festival.

The four hills

Neighbouring villages Lei Yue Mun, Ngau Tau Kok, Sai Tso Wan and Cha Kwo Ling were the pillars of Hong Kong's stone quarrying industry. As early as the in the Qing dynasty, these villages were known as the ‘four hills’. Chinese officials based in Kowloon Walled City assigned a headman to each hill by to manage the place and collect taxes.

Opens in a new window